Mason Jar Rack – CUSTOM!!

Okay, I have about 400 square feet of  living space & I have a crap load of mason jars filled with herbs, beans, seeds, etc. A few weeks ago I looked everywhere for a Mason Jar Shelf. No luck, so I was only left with my creativity. I went to our Shopko to look at shelves. There were several but they either were way to wide or to tall! I was getting frustrated. I came across a shoe rack on sale for $29.99. My mind started working – I think this would work. I looked at the picture on the front of the shoe rack box and imagined jars instead of shoes. The rack was made out of metal so I figured it would be strong enough to hold several jars. I took it home with me.

Shoe Tower $29.99
Shoe Tower $29.99

I started to put it together. I only assembled a few levels and set the mason jars on them to see how they held. The tilt was perfect but the jars could easily fall thru if hit.

Just a few levels assembled
Just a few levels assembled

So I grabbed my black gorilla duck-tape (I LOVE THIS TAPE) and made little hammocks for each jar!

Little hammocks!
Little hammocks!

I did this by first wrapping the tape around the top bar . . .

Wrap tape around top bar
Wrap tape around top bar

Then taking a jar and placing it on top of the tape and setting it in the correct spot. This helped be make sure that my tape wasn’t to short or to long and was snug right to the contour of the jar serving like a hammock or chair.

Position jar
Position jar

Now I took a razor blade and cut the tape, making sure to  leave enough that could be wrapped around the bottom bar. I tried to rip it first but that didn’t work as well. The blade left a nice clean cut.

Cut tape with razor blade
Cut tape with razor blade

One row finished . . .

One row finished!
One row finished!
Fits 9 quart jars across!
Fits 9 quart jars across!

Now I had to figure out what to do with the stickiness on the other side of the duck tape. First I tried to put tape back over it. That was stupid and very frustrating to get lined up. So I cut construction paper the same width & length of the tape and placed over the sticky side. Worked great!

Construction paper!
Construction paper!
Working out great!
Working out great!

So I  just kept building and taping until I finally got it all done!

Sweet, so happy!
Sweet, so happy!
Closer look!
Closer look!
Side view!
Side view!

I was so excited how it turned out! So I got all my jars out that were hiding in closets and placed most of them on the rack. It seemed to work ok for any jar size.

Held all sizes!
Held all sizes!

Even though I had stuff in different sized mason jars and it held them  just fine, I decided to replace everything in all quart jars. In the end it held and still is holding with no problems 72 jars! It fits great snugged right up to the wall and it is very sturdy too!

72 Quart Jars!
72 Quart Jars!

Now this only cost me $29.99 for the shoe rack, $9.99 for the tape, but I didn’t use a lot of the roll and my time. I had such a fun time building this. It’s been a while since I did a cool homemade project.

2 Replies to “Mason Jar Rack – CUSTOM!!”

Leave a Reply

